American League Previews in Review


I’ve finished up all of my team previews for the American League, and here’s how I see it shaking out:

Division Champs

West: Seattle Mariners
Central: Minnesota Twins
East: New York Yankees

Wild Card: Boston Red Sox

Overall, I think that the AL East remains the toughest division in the sport, and I’m really wondering if something will need to be done eventually to help with the competitive balance of that division. It would be hard for me (if I were an Orioles or Blue Jays fan) to see the light at the end of the tunnel knowing that the Yankees and Red Sox are always going to be at or near the top of the division they are in. Of some other concern to me is the fact that the AL East appears to have a serious lock on the wild card spot as well. I’m not entirely sure what the answer to these problems would be though. It would be hard to see how the league could make the rules work such that would help to alleviate some of these problems without taking it out on the Yankees and Red Sox specifically.

I won’t be going into how I think the AL playoffs will play out until I finish all the reviews the first week of April.

Upcoming Posts:

Saturday – The second half of my starting pitcher fantasy rankings
Sunday – Reliever fantasy rankings
Next week: NL East Team Previews

Thanks to everyone who is reading and providing commentary!

Leave a Reply

