Season Awards Review


As the final of the major BBWAA awards has been given out yesterday, I thought I’d take a look and see how my own votes compared to the actual awards. I calculated it based on the standard voting points, according to the information in the table below.

  1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
MVP 14 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1
Cy Young 7 4 3 2 1          
ROY 5 3 1              
Mgr 5 3 1              

Each player that I got exactly right I gave myself the point total. If they were on my ballot and within the number of spots on my ballot (so top 10 for MVP, top 5 for Cy Young, etc.), but not in the right spot, I gave myself a point. So, the maximum score was 94 points per league for a total of 188. While I still believe my votes were the way to go for me, I am curious how close I am to the BBWAA membership. I also have included how these compare to the Baseball Bloggers’ Alliance voting as well. With that, here’s my total, and how I got there:

American League:  56 out of 94 points (BBWAA), 70 out of 94 points (BBA)

 National League: 68 out of 94 points (BBWAA), 80 out of 94 points (BBA)

I am pleased that I ended up having my picks for the awards match all of the BBA’s award winners, and having 7 of my 8 choices match the BBWAA as well. I do find it interesting to see how I viewed places 2 through 10 for the MVPs and 2 through 5 for the Cy Young awards. Makes me wonder if my writings about fantasy have slightly biased myself, as players who were fantasy monsters seem to have been a little higher up on my ballot for MVP and Cy Young than the BBWAA would incline to put them.  It’s an interesting exercise if nothing else.

Overall, I am pretty happy with how the awards turned out. I find it extremely interesting just how much of an argument the victory of Felix Hernandez is causing. Clearly, it was a bit different having a pitcher who only won 13 games win the Cy Young or the Walter Johnson awards, but there seems to be a bit of a revolt out there about whether or not this is a victory for statheads. To me, the whole thing seems comical. The only one of the “old” statistics that Hernandez did not excel in was wins. But he finished first in ERA and innings pitched, second in WHIP and strikeouts. I’m honestly not sure what all the chatter is about.

What’s Next

As the offseason goes into full swing, there are 3 groups of topics I have planned to discuss over the months until pitchers and catchers report again.

  • Hall of Fame Ballot Reviews – Last year I reviewed the cases for selected Hall of Fame candidates, and I will do it again this year. For players I have already reviewed, I will be taking another look at the candidate, and seeing if my decision has changed since last season. I would hope there aren’t too many of those, but it’s always possible.
  • Prospect Reviews – At the start of the calendar year I reviewed a top prospect from each organization, and will be doing this again starting in 2011. I am looking for suggestions for prospects for certain organizations, so feel free to comment with names you want to see.
  • Transaction Reviews – As trades and free agent signings occur, I will be taking a look at some of the major ones to see what can be gleaned about them from what’s being written.
Leave a Reply

