2011 Prospect Reviews Launch


Back at the start of 2010, I wrote up reviews of a top prospect from each organization’s minor leagues. You can see the resulting reviews in the left sidebar.

I told myself back in February that I would probably not take a look at players who have very little professional experience, but I think I am viewing it as more of a challenge to try and find good information about some of these prospects. I think that as time progresses, I will invariably find things that I think work better with regard to evaluation and scouting, and am hoping to get some good feedback on these players as well.

By no means do I think that I am even remotely in the same ballpark as John Sickels, Kevin Goldstein, or any of the other prospect experts out there. All I am trying to do is take another look at these players, and see what can be gleaned from the scouting reports and statistics out there for the players. With that in mind, here’s the list of prospects I have selected to take a deeper look at.

As it was with last year, I will not necessarily be reviewing the top prospect in each system. I also will not be re-reviewing any prospects that I looked at last year, as I want to take a look at some of the new up-and-comers. I basically just take prospects I think are interesting and want to look at.

1. KCR- Wil Myers
2. SF – Brandon Belt
3. OAK – Michael Choice
4. CHC – Brett Jackson
5. COL – Nolan Arenado
6. CLE – Jason Kipnis
7. NYM – Wilmer Flores
8. LAA – Jean Segura
9. SEA – Nick Franklin
10. ATL – Matt Lipka
11. MIN – Kyle Gibson
12. TEX – Robert Erlin
13. STL – Zack Cox
14. PIT – Jameson Taillon
15. PHI – Jonathan Singleton
16. BOS – Drake Britton
17. DET – Nick Castellanos
18. HOU – Jay Austin
19. WAS – Eury Perez
20. LAD – Zach Lee
21. ARI – Matt Davidson
22. BAL – Manny Machado
23. CHW – Jared Mitchell
24. TAM – Matt Moore
25. NYY – Gary Sanchez
26. FLA – Matt Dominguez
27. CIN – Billy Hamilton
28. MIL – Ryan Gennett
29. SD – Simon Castro
30. TOR – Anthony Gose

One response to “2011 Prospect Reviews Launch

  1. Pingback: Rounding the Bases w/ the BBA’s General Chapter: 01/07/11 « Blogging From The Bleachers

Leave a Reply

