Weekly Links for February 9th, 2011


Time for another set of links from around the blogosphere…

Joshua Maciel had a great post over at Fangraphs about potentially reworking the visual form of the standings page, and it’s pretty good. I’m not sure how it would translate exactly, but I like the idea a lot.

Larry Granillo, previously of Wezen-Ball, is now writing over at Baseball Prospectus, and researched exactly which game it was that Ferris Bueller and friends attended in the movie.

Nick Scott over at Royals Authority wrote up one potential reason for the Year of the Pitcher: Smaller bats by rule of MLB. A very well done piece, and although it was found to be not really involved by Rob Neyer over at SBNation, it’s still a very well done piece.

Dave Gershman has been doing a lot of great writing in a bunch of different locations, and his post about the career path of Eric Chavez over at Beyond the Box Score was excellent. Having seen him play when he was in his prime (and healthy), it’s really sad to see what could have been.

David over at Marlins Diehards wrote up that the Marlins are apparently holding open tryouts for the organization on February 16th. I’m kind of with him, but from the Marlins perspective, it’s not a bad move. If they find one player who is even remotely worth having in the organization, it will be more than worth the minimal cost they have to spend for it.

As for the blog here itself, I’ve decided to make a couple of minor changes going forward. First, the prospect reviews are at least on hold, and I may not get to the remaining group of them any time soon. I enjoy learning about the prospects, but I don’t want to do any of the write ups half way, and I’m not sure I can commit to the time needed to research them to the standards I want. Second, I will be doing more current event type posts and more stream of thought type ideas. Basically, it just means that I’m hoping to write more about things as they are happening and as they interest me. I’m not sure whether or not that really ends up being a particular difference in what gets posted, but I’m going to give it a try. Thanks again to all the readers and commenters as always.

Leave a Reply

